NaBloPoMo #1: 20 Things I Love

For my first official NaBloPoMo post, here are 20 things I love. The list is not all-inclusive, of course. You are free to draw your own conclusions:

1. My beautiful wife, The Redhead. She is the best thing that ever happened to me.
2. My faith. God has bestowed upon me more joy and blessings than any man could hope for.
3. My family.
4. My friends. You know who you are.
5. Spending a lazy Sunday with The Redhead. ‘Nuff said.
6. Reading a good book. Biographies, history, and current events, but I also dabble in the classics from time to time.
7. Fountain pens. There is nothing like the feel of a smooth nib on good paper. And I write infinitely better with a fountain pen. I always carry one with me.
8. America. Despite all our problems, we are still the greatest political experiment ever undertaken.
9. Making a difference in my community.
10. Music, especially classical music. I love Beethoven, and I love attending St. Louis Symphony concerts! I also like classic rock and big band jazz.
11. Travel and exploring new places. Here, there, and everywhere.
12. Food, especially Italian. And a good steak.
13. Single-malt scotch. The Balvenie is my favorite, but any good brand will do.
14. Old movies. It doesn’t really matter what kind. They are just better than the crap Hollywood is putting out these days.
15. Ice cream. Who doesn’t like ice cream?
16. Learning new things and new skills.
17. Sleep. I don’t get enough! And coffee, lots of coffee.
18. Beer. I have rarely met a beer I didn’t like.
19. Reading the newspaper daily and keeping up with current events.
20. A big, bold cabernet with a chunk of real Parmigiano-Reggiano cheese. Dee-licious!

About Dale

USAF retired. Rotarian. @AZCardinals fan. Scotch whisky lover. Vinyl spinner. Nikon shooter. Fountain pen geek.
This entry was posted in beer, blogging, classical music, Community Service, current events, fountain pens, NaBloPoMo, reading, scotch whiskey, st. Louis Symphony, The Redhead, volunteering, wine. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to NaBloPoMo #1: 20 Things I Love

  1. Janice Heck says:

    Good list. Starts off strong and keeps going. And I love that Parmigiano-Reggiano cheese. I bought some once in Reggiano, Italy. Makes my mouth water to think of it. Enjoy NaBloPoMo, or whatever this crazy thing is that we have signed up for.

  2. Dale says:

    Thanks Janice, as a new blogger I appreciate the positive feedback! The Redhead and I were fortunate to be stationed in Naples, Italy, for three years and we got so spoiled on the food. We can barely eat “Italian” here in the States. Fortunately, she is an awesome cook!

Your thoughts?

