What I Am Reading: Nov 12, 2013

In honor of Veterans Day, yesterday, I started reading Richard Rubin‘s The Last of the Doughboys: The Forgotten Generation and Their Forgotten World War (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 2013). I purchased this book approximately 2 months ago after seeing Mr. Rubin speak about his work on C-SPAN‘s Book TV but also because I just don’t know that much about The Great War, World War I.

Rubin spent 10-years tracking down and interviewing our remaining few dozen World War I veterans, aged 101 to 113. All of them are gone now, but through their remembrances we gain an understanding of the sacrifices they made in the defense of our great Nation. I have only read the first few pages and I can already tell I am going to love this book!

doughboys

About Dale

USAF retired. Rotarian. @AZCardinals fan. Scotch whisky lover. Vinyl spinner. Nikon shooter. Fountain pen geek.
Image | This entry was posted in American history, reading and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Your thoughts?

